Welcome to Razorcake | DIY Punk Music | Punk Bands | Punk Rock Bands | Punk Magazine Welcome to Razorcake | DIY Punk Music | Punk Bands | Punk Rock Bands | Punk Magazine
 

























· 1:Razorcake #79 Now Available
· 2:Record Reviews in Razorcake #79
· 3:#308 with Kurt Morris
· 4:Record Reviews in Razorcake #79
· 5:Record Reviews in Razorcake #79


Subscriptions
New Subscriptions
Renewal
Stickers and Buttons
The NEW "Because We're Fuckin' Classy" Koozie


Razorcake #79
7 Random Back Issues for $25 | For Intl Customers
Zisk #24
Grabass Charlestons, Ask Mark Twain LP
Grabass Charlestons, The Greatest Story Ever Hula'd LP


Can't find Razorcake at your favorite store? Lend us a hand and we'll send you a free issue.



Razorcake will send you one free issue if you ask your librarian if they would carry Razorcake in their stacks. (This offer is good for both traditional libraries and independent libraries.) To get the free issue, you must send us the librarian's name and email and the library's postal address. We will then contact them directly and donate a subscription to them. U.S. libraries only, due to postage.

Spokenest: We Move 12"EP

Live Reviews

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12

| 0-9| A| B| C| D| E| F| G| H| I| J| K| L| M |

| N| O| P| Q| R| S| T| U| V| W| X| Y| Z|

Below are some recently posted reviews.

RSS Feed

Riot Fest 2010
October 6, 2010, Chicago, Illinois, I Was There.
By Sean Koepenick

I decided to grab some coffee across the street from our hotel. Who should I see but the legendary Mike Ditka outside his restaurant, talking to one of his employees.




Melvins and Totimoshi
At the Troubadour on September 15, 2010 in Hollywood, CA
By Marcus Solomon

I was so overwhelmed and immersed in the transcendental state brought forth by meditational Melvinism and strong alcohol that the audience seemed to disappear for extended periods of time.




Scream and The Gears
At the Redwood Bar on October 17th, 2010
By Ever Velasquez

The years may have rolled by, but the attitude, energy, and music was as great as the first time I was introduced to the band.




Shonen Knife
At Amoeba Records San Francisco, Sept. 12th, 2010
By J. Federico

They do have their heavy moments, and, at other times, songs like “Little Tree” are so fucking darling that it just slays me.




Order Of The Fly, The, The Returners, Leper, Bad Form, Wreckin’ Katz
August 26, 2010 at The Venue, San Bernardino CA
By Marcus Solomon

Another great unknown playing amazing music in the shadows.




Destino Final, Mala Sangre, and Liberate
Photos Taken at The Blvd., Boyle Heights, California, 5/16/09
By Donofthedead

Reverb! Reverb!  More Reverb!




Hjertestop and Deskonocidos
Photos Taken at the Blvd., Boyle Heights, California, 5/13/09
By Donofthedead

Not sure how to pronounce the names, but the music was more important than me finding out.




Guided Cradle, Bloody Phoenix, Terrorism, Sin Remedio, and Bastard
Photos Taken at the Blvd., Boyle Heights, California, 5/2/09
By Donofthedead

When you’re playing bass with a serious face, is that bassface?




Photos From Awesome Fest 4
September 3rd, 4th, & 5th, North Park, California
By Staff

For Awesome Fest 4, Razorcake asked four photographers to document their weekend.




Volver, Despertar, Creo En Mí, Control Chubby, Venganza
At ¡Sí! GTHC, May 29, 2010, Guatemala City, Guatemala
By Lisa Weiss

Venganza sound like the CEO of British Petroleum being hit in the face with an oil-covered pelican.




Conquest For Death, Sin Remedio, SMD, and DxAxF
Photos Taken at The Blvd., Boyle Heights, California, 5/1/09
By Donofthedead

The man in the picture is an air guitar champion. He’s not too shabby with a real guitar in his hand.




In Praise of Bowling Alley Shows
Eddy Current Suppression Ring and more.
By J. Federico

Meanwhile, people bowled on. I felt a little bad for some of the families that were there, as it did not seem like they were expecting a live show, nor a huge crowd hogging up all the free space, chattering away in between (and during) bands, making the food and drink lines incredibly long and creating a significant cloud of smoke right outside the exit.





Dastard, Days Off, Canadian Rifle at Ronnie’s Bar, Chicago, 6/17/10
By Chris Gottlieb
By Guest Contributor

They played about three more songs and said, “All right, that’s it.”





Glow Kit, Even Dwarfs + More
June 19, 2010 at Bolschefabrikken, Copenhagen, Denmark
By J. Federico

I did do some searching online to see if any Danish bands that I like might be playing while I was there. Priorities!




Windy City Sound Clash 2010
By Nighthawk
By Guest Contributor

I ended up at Kevin and Ben’s in just my underwear and shoes. I should mention also, that you have to walk past an elementary school to get from one house to the other. Good thing it was the weekend.




Regulations
June 12, 2010 at Debaser, Stockholm, Sweden
By J. Federico

Although the people there were enthusiastic, there wasn’t much dancing of the slam variety, despite the fact that Regulations played a lot of fast stuff that seemed to lend itself to getting down.




Circle Jerks, 7 Seconds, Municipal Waste, Ceremony
May 1st, 2010 @ Fox Theater (Pomona, CA)
By Marcus Solomon

The music in his mind deftly left his fingers, through his instrument, and directly into the minds of a couple thousand appreciative punk zealots.




Sumerian Axe, Thee Cormans, and Big Take Over
Que Sera, Long Beach, California, 4/17/09
By Donofthedead

When I saw the costumes, I thought I mysteriously entered into a secret cheer camp mascot party.




TSOL, The Briggs, Civet, Rous’s
Saturday, May 8, 2010 @ Galaxy Theater (Santa Ana, Ca.)
By Marcus Solomon

He went backstage and brought forth a big bowl of assorted candies. He then proceeded to throw big handfuls of individually wrapped sweets while making jokes about giving candy to children.




Mosquito Bandito
At the Knockout, San Francisco, CA, 3/2/10
By Jennifer Federico

He made quick stops of the guitar and drums and then out flowed a litany of lyrical musings that sounded stream of consciousness but probably weren’t.




Prima Donna, The Billy Bones, Motorcycle Boy, The Legendary Swagger
February 27, 2010 @ Key Club (Hollywood, CA)
By Marcus Solomon

Pure buttery magic.




Leatherface, March 5, 2010, Knitting Factory, Brooklyn
The Boat Comes to Brooklyn
By Seth Swaaley

I received a kick to the eye from a stage dive. I swiped away some strange liquid that came out and, truth be told, felt rejuvenated.




Pompoir and Death Sentence: Panda!
At 21 Grand, Oakland, CA, 2/8/10
By J. Federico

Sometimes you win some, sometimes you go outside and wait ‘til the band is over.




Skulls, The (reunion show), Noise Attack, Amerikan Made, Fallujah 71
Saturday, Jan. 9, 2010 at the Galaxy Theatre (Santa Ana, CA)
By Marcus Solomon

Music is good medicine and this long-awaited reunion was just what the doctor ordered.




Deathrats and Thieves, 2/12/2010 @ Slims (Raleigh, NC)
By Will Butler
By Guest Contributor

Pictures from the Thieves record release show. Deathrats braved the winterous weather and made it down thankfully.




1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15

| 0-9| A| B| C| D| E| F| G| H| I| J| K| L| M |

| N| O| P| Q| R| S| T| U| V| W| X| Y| Z|

Razorcake Podcast Player



·STEVIE TOMBSTONE
·DARK AGES
·AUDIO INFIDELS
·ARTCORE #28
·MEKA LEKA HI’S, THE
·MR. AIRPLANE MAN
·PIG DESTROYER
·LABEL THE TRAITOR
·GRABASS CHARLESTONS






If you live in the Los Angeles area and want to help us out, let us know.



Get monthly notifications of new arrivals and distro and special offers for being part of the Razorcake army.



 
Razorcake/Gorsky Press, Inc.
PO Box 42129
Los Angeles, CA 90042

Except for reviews, which appear in both, the
contents of the Razorcake website are completely
different from the contents of Razorcake Fanzine.

© 2001-2011 Razorcake/Gorsky Press, Inc. Privacy Policy

Razorcake.org is made possible in part by grants from
the City of Los Angeles, Department
of Cultural Affairs and is supported
by the Los Angeles County Board of
Supervisors through the Los Angeles
Arts Commission.
Department of Cultural AffairsLos Angeles County Arts Commission


Web site engine code is Copyright © 2003 by PHP-Nuke. All Rights Reserved. PHP-Nuke is Free Software released under the GNU/GPL license.